Adelaide lift inaugural FFA Cup

Adelaide United became the inaugural winners of Australia's FFA Cup with a 1-0 victory over Perth Glory in the final in Adelaide.
A-League leaders Glory were reduced to ten men when Josh Risdon was dismissed in the 58th minute after his second yellow card.
Spaniard Sergio Cirio capitalised with the winner in the 66th minute. Cirio received a inch-perfect pass from Argentina Marcelo Carrusca and rounded Glory goalkeeper Danny Vukovic to net from a tight angle.
The victory gives United their first trophy in seven years and the first of their Spanish revolution under Josep Gombau. The FC Barcelona-trained coach has brought a new style, new signings and a winning culture to Adelaide.
Cirio was named the winner of the Mark Viduka Medal as the player of the final.


Post a Comment